Department of Human Physiology



2021

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

CONGRATULATIONS GRADUATES!

Congratulations to all our 2021 graduates!

My name is John Halliwill, and I am the head of the Department of Human Physiology. As many of you know, Human Physiology is the home for undergraduate and graduate students who want rigorous training in human physiology and anatomy that will prepare them for careers in medicine, allied health professions, and biomedical research.

Today we celebrate the completion of Bachelors, Masters, and Doctoral degrees in Human Physiology. In this same moment, we also acknowledge the many disruptions you have struggled through over the past year and a half. We faced these great challenges together, figuring out how to navigate a strange new world that has reconfigured how we study, work, and live in ways we may not fully understand for years to come. It is our sense of community, our shared goals and ambitions that helped us get through this together.

To our graduating students, congratulations to all of you on the many challenges you have overcome in reaching this touchstone moment in your lives. Today we honor your achievements. Your sustained accomplishments in the classroom and the laboratory make us proud, even more so when considering the difficult circumstances under which you succeeded. This is a joyous occasion to reflect on your time with us, and how much you have grown as scholars and as thoughtful members of our society. Human Physiology has been, and always will be, your home.

On behalf of our entire university, our department, and the faculty, staff, graduate employees, and other UO folks who have supported you through your career here, I am sorry that we are not together today to celebrate on campus, with family, friends, and teachers. But you will always be a part of our department and I hope some part of us will always be with you.

Go Ducks!

John Halliwill, PhD

Professor and Head of Human Physiology

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN PHYSIOLOGY

DEGREE CANDIDATES

Doctoral Candidate

Michael McGeehan

"A Simulation-Based Framework for Informing Design of Prosthetic Feet"

Master's Degree Candidates

Justin Bockholt
Armando Campos
Kat Carey
Sydney Leverett
Scott Mongold
Wendy Oshinski
Emily Hope Reeve
Holly Rittenberry
Mary-Grace Testa
Nicholas Winder

Baccalaureate Degree Candidates

Maryam Ali Breanne Alig summa cum laude Karan Anand Bia Assuncao Tavares Cameron Batchelor Bridget Baur Phi Beta Kappa Kamren Belden
summa cum laude
Phi Beta Kappa
Youri Benadjaoud
Aaron Benhamou
Hunter Blaylock
summa cum laude
Phi Beta Kappa
Departmental Honors
Nicole Bonacorso

Wyatt Borman	Paige Ehrenhart
Phi Beta Kappa	cum laude
Shaye Bowden	Phi Beta Kappa
Courtney Bush	Caitlynn Emick
Ava Butrynski	Gabby Foreman
Risa Byerly	Hannah Fowkes
Nicco Cardone	Rachael Frankovic
Cameron Casella	magna cum laude
Zewdi Cass	Alyssa Fuentez
Hailey Cassell	cum laude
Samantha Cassi	Olivia Gamboa
Cortney Chase	Chris Garcia
Angela Clare	magna cum laude
Vanessa Clare	Phi Beta Kappa
Sydney Coleman	Stephen Gaughran
Markayla Conn	Emma Glaunert
Rachel Conner	Departmental Honors
magna cum laude	George Go
Phi Beta Kappa	Jasyn Gohl
Scott Cordell	summa cum laude
Eddie Cruz	Caroline Gonyea
Sarah Curtis	Phi Beta Kappa
Etienne Daadi	Anika Graack
Noah Dahl	Phi Beta Kappa
Mason Dallegge	Lauren Granger
cum laude	summa cum laude
Natalie Davis	Phi Beta Kappa
Erandi De Silva	Michael Hadeed
Darilyn Distant	magna cum laude
Cassie Douda	Kaitlyn Haney
Rina Easterday	Elsa Haney
Wesley Ebel	Ella Harman
Nell Egan	Cydni Harper
summa cum laude	Ben Hayataka
Phi Beta Kappa	Keaton Hayataka
1 1	J

Jeanette Helgerson	Makenna Lipelt
cum laude	Venice Loar
Phi Beta Kappa	Christian Lopez
Departmental Honors	Kamryn Lopez
Branden Henry	Rowan Lovich
Brenna Henry	summa cum laude
Tyler Henry	Phi Beta Kappa
magna cum laude	Joshua Luna
Phi Beta Kappa	Danqing Luo
Michelle Hernandez	Emily Ma
magna cum laude	cum laude
Phi Beta Kappa	Phi Beta Kappa
Maira Hernandez Torres	Colette Mardirossian
Hannah Heskin	Cidney Marshall
summa cum laude	Josue Martinez Jimenez
Phi Beta Kappa	cum laude
Natty Heymann	Phi Beta Kappa
Andrew Hogan	Emily Mauelshagen
magna cum laude	Karam Maymoun
Mekaila Hudson	Phi Beta Kappa
Sabrina Ingram-Rajan	Connor McGlothin
Phranquee Jackson	Casey McGuire
Kevin Jong	David McNeely
Zeb Kiggins	Sophia Medina
Sahana Krishna Kumaran	Phi Beta Kappa
summa cum laude	Matthew Medved
Phi Beta Kappa	Phi Beta Kappa
Spencer Lamb	Emily Moore
Audrey Landes	Reilly Moran
Connor Lang	Phi Beta Kappa
Kunsel Lathsang	Celia Moyer
Byron Lee	Andrew Muhr
magna cum laude	Emily Naughton
Sam Leiser	Isabella Navarro
Jordan Li	Omar Navarro-Ramirez
J01 GG11 E1	CITIGI NAVATIO NATITICE

Myles Nelson Rosy Quinn summa cum laude magna cum laude Phi Beta Kappa Phi Beta Kappa Departmental Honors Blue Rangel-Lancaster Oregon-Six Maurisa Rapp lan Newton cum laude Phi Beta Kappa Minh Nguyen Departmental Honors summa cum laude Denielle Reynolds Riley Oleson cum laude Taylor Rezell cum laude **Justin Onusko** cum laude Phi Beta Kappa Phi Beta Kappa Madeleine Robarts Luke Orr Nico Rondio Andrew Owens Chris Ryu Kiana Oyama Makoto Sakai magna cum laude Maija Sands Phi Beta Kappa Aly Sato Rima Pandit summa cum laude summa cum laude Dani Schroeder Phi Beta Kappa magna cum laude Viviane Pederson Karina Shah summa cum laude summa cum laude Jewlyssa Pedregon Departmental Honors Hanson Pham Morgan Shoaff magna cum laude Sebastian Silber Maggie Phillips Paige Smetzer Ariel Spinks Phi Beta Kappa Deanna Plunkett cum laude magna cum laude Nisha Sridhar Phi Beta Kappa summa cum laude Kiana Popoola Ian Stack Ethan Staley Kevin Post **Emily Sternat** Mary Potter

Nick Stornetta magna cum laude Mia Sullivan Ryan Tamura Angela Tan Nicole Taylor Charles Teitelbaum Michelle Torres Ortiz cum laude Olivia Totah Phillip Tracy magna cum laude Phi Beta Kappa Kit Tyler Meg Urban McKenna Vaughn cum laude Phi Beta Kappa Hailey Volk Kosta Vonich Morgan Walker Departmental Honors Kevin Wallace Asa Ward Whitney Warth

Phi Beta Kappa

Brittany Whitt Emma Whittman magna cum laude Phi Beta Kappa Departmental Honors Nataschia Wibben Iessica Wilheim Kayla Wilkinson Alicyn Williams Whitney Williams Olivia Winter Kaitlyn Yamada Colby Yeh-Tinetti Celia Zaharie cum laude Daniel Zubenskiy

AWARDS AND SCHOLARSHIPS

JAN BROEKHOFF SCHOLARSHIP Seth Donahue

EVONUK MEMORIAL GRADUATE FELLOWSHIP*

Keenan Greyslak Brendan Kaiser

WILLIAM AND GENERA FIELDMAN SCHOLARSHIP Katie Farina

SUE GRIGSBY SCHOLARSHIP

Quentin Chou Emilee McDonald Serena Orsinger URSULA "SUE" MOSHBERGER

SCHOLARSHIP Graduate

Grace Privett

Undergraduates Sydney Coleman Rachel Conner Anya Gallup Deanna Plunkett

SHAPIRO FAMILY SCHOLARSHIP

Alex Rockhill

STEPHANIE JACKSON ANATOMY LEARNING ASSISTANT AWARD

Eddie Cruz

GRADUATE TEACHING AWARD

Keenan Greyslak

^{*}Pending research proposal approval

Human Physiology Faculty

John Halliwill, PhD Department Head

Damien Callahan, PhD Hans Dreyer, PhD Grace Golden, PhD Ian Greenhouse, PhD Michael Hahn, PhD Robin Hopkins, PhD Adrianne Huxtable, PhD Andrew Karduna, PhD **Andrew Lovering, PhD** Michelle Marneweck, PhD Philip Matern, MS Carrie McCurdy, PhD Christopher Minson, PhD Jon Runyeon, MS Elinor Sullivan, PhD Nicole Swann, PhD Ashley Walker, PhD

Human Physiology Staff

Anni Elling, Department Manager Srithip Prime, Fiscal Coordinator Angie Towle, Accounting Technician